2011 Memorial Cup Expected To Be Held In Mississauga

TORONTO – The Ontario Hockey League has scheduled a media conference for Monday May 10, 2010, at 12:30 pm at the Mississauga Civic Centre to announce the successful host centre for the 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup.

OHL Commissioner David Branch will be in attendance along with OHL Legal Counsel, Gord Kirke, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors Owner, Eugene Melnyk and the Mayor of Mississauga, Hazel McCallion.

Four OHL member teams including the Barrie Colts, Kingston Frontenacs, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors, and Windsor Spitfires are all finalists for the right to host the 93rd edition of the prestigious National Championship.

The 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup Site Selection Committee includes President of the Toronto Blue Jays and former CEO of Major League Baseball Paul Beeston, former NHL Executive Frank Bonello, Senior Vice President of Hockey Operations for the NHL Jim Gregory, and NHL Director of Central Scouting EJ McGuire.

Delegates of the successful host committee will have the opportunity to travel to Brandon, Manitoba, in time for the 2010 MasterCard Memorial Cup which takes place May 14-23.

The 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup will take place May 20-29 featuring the league champions from the Ontario Hockey League, the Western Hockey League, and the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, along with a host team from the OHL.


The Latest Sports News

About the Author

Ian Shalapata
Ian writes for and provides imagery to Square Media Group as well as accepting freelance photographic assignments. In addition, he has contributed to media organizations, sporting groups, and individuals across North America including the Fort Wayne News-Sentinel, Chatham-Kent Sports Network, the Golf Association of Michigan, League 1 Ontario, as well as numerous colleges and universities in Canada and the United States. Email Ian Shalapata