Wickenheiser Gains Order Of Canada

OTTAWA—His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, announced today 50 new appointments to the Order of Canada. The new appointees include 15 Officers (O.C.), and 35 Members (C.M.). These appointments were made on the recommendation of the Advisory Council for the Order of Canada.

(OTTAWA, ON) – Recipients will be invited to accept their insignia at a ceremony to be held at a later date.

The Order of Canada, one of our country’s highest civilian honours, was established in 1967, during Canada’s centennial year, to recognize a lifetime of outstanding achievement, dedication to community and service to the nation. Over the last 40 years, more than 5 000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order.



André Bandrauk, O.C.
William Buyers, O.C.
The Honourable Herménégilde Chiasson, O.C.
Lorna Crozier, O.C.
Alain Lefèvre, O.C., C.Q.
Terence Macartney-Filgate, O.C.
Denis Marleau, O.C., C.Q.
Bob McDonald, O.C.
Maureen O’Neil, O.C.
Viola Robinson, O.C., O.N.S.
Maureen Sabia, O.C.
Peter Alexander Singer, O.C.
Annette Verschuren, O.C.
Hayley Wickenheiser, O.C.
Ronald G. Worton, O.C.



The Latest Sports News

About the Author

Ian Shalapata
Ian writes for and provides imagery to Square Media Group as well as accepting freelance photographic assignments. In addition, he has contributed to media organizations, sporting groups, and individuals across North America including the Fort Wayne News-Sentinel, Chatham-Kent Sports Network, the Golf Association of Michigan, League 1 Ontario, as well as numerous colleges and universities in Canada and the United States. Email Ian Shalapata