Dogs Down Spits In Shootout

(WINDSOR, ON) – The Niagara IceDogs finished up their weekend with a big 4-3 shootout victory over the hometown Windsor Spitfires on Sunday afternoon.

The IceDogs opened the scoring as Mitchell Theoret continued his strong play scoring his third goal in as many games to give the IceDogs a 1-0 lead. That would prove to be the only goal of the period as both IceDogs starter Brent Moran and Windsor starter Jordan DeKort would be solid, keeping the game at 1-0 after one. Shots in the period were 14-9 IceDogs in the period.

Windsor would tie things up easily in the second scoring 3:09 into the period to make it 1-1. Windsor would not stop there however, using the momentum of six straight Niagara penalties to take a 3-1 lead, scoring first on a 5-on-3 to make it 2-1 and then on a 5-on-4 to make it 3-1. The IceDogs would not let up however, as Trevor Petersen would score only 16 seconds after Windsor’s second powerplay goal to cut the deficit to 3-2, which would be the score after 40 minutes. Shots after two favoured the IceDogs 24-20.

Niagara would continue to pressure Windsor early in the third period, until the IceDogs would get a 5-on-3 powerplay of their own and Ryan Strome would rip one home to knot things up at 3-3. The teams would exchange chances throughout the rest of the period, but would solve nothing, as the IceDogs headed to overtime for the second straight night.

The IceDogs would end up shorthanded in overtime for the second night in a row, but this time they would come up with the big kill to send things to a shootout.

In the shootout, Brent Moran would stop the first two shooters, while Steven Shipley and Luke Mercer would both be successful on their attempts, giving the IceDogs a big 4-3 victory!

The IceDogs will now return home on Thursday night when they host the visiting Brampton Battalion at the Gatorade Garden City Complex! Great seats for Thursday night and all other IceDogs home games are still available and can be purchased at all IceDogs ticketing locations!

1. NIAG M. Theoret, (3) (D. Hamilton, L. Mercer), 10:59
2. WSR K. Rychel, (4) (J. Ho-Sang), 3:07
2. WSR K. Rychel, (5) (J. McNaughton, B. Vail), 7:03 (PP)
2. WSR J. Ho-Sang, (2) (K. Rychel, J. Maletta), 12:50 (PP)
2. NIAG T. Petersen, (1) (J. Graham, B. Beukeboom), 13:06
3. NIAG R. Strome, (7) (D. Hamilton), 12:07 (PP)


About the Author

Ian Shalapata

Ian writes for and provides imagery to Square Media Group as well as accepting freelance photographic assignments. In addition, he has contributed to media organizations, sporting groups, and individuals across North America including the Fort Wayne News-Sentinel, Chatham-Kent Sports Network, the Golf Association of Michigan, League 1 Ontario, as well as numerous colleges and universities in Canada and the United States.
Email Ian Shalapata

%d bloggers like this: