Scott Dixon Sweeps Toronto

(TORONTO, ON) – Scott Dixon, who started fifth in the 85-lap race on the tight 1.7-mile, 11-turn street circuit, overtook race leader Sebastien Bourdais on Lap 78 and held off the four-time CART champion on a Lap 84 single-file restart for the victory. Dario Franchitti finished third in the race Saturday.

Dixon won six days earlier on the wide and fast Pocono Raceway 2.5-mile tri-oval. His last back-to-back victories occurred in 2008 at Edmonton and Kentucky.

Bourdais was 1.7007 seconds back in Toronto in the No. 7 Dragon Racing Chevrolet for his best finish since re-joining Indy car racing in 2011.

Dario Franchitti, who earned the Verizon P1 Award in the No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda, was informed while standing on the podium that he was assessed a 25-second blocking penalty on the final lap that dropped him to 13th.

After the race, INDYCAR officials met with Franchitti and Target Chip Ganassi Racing team members to further review the blocking penalty issued on the final lap. The team presented car data showing steering trace and braking points from the Lap 85 incident with the No. 12 car driven by Will Power. The group also viewed additional video. Upon further review, INDYCAR reinstated Franchitti to his original third-place finishing position.

On Sunday Scott Dixon was again dominant during Race 2 of the Honda Indy Toronto, from the first standing start in IZOD IndyCar Series history to the completion of 85 laps.

Dixon won Race 2 under caution because of a late accident to sweep the weekend doubleheader and earn the $100,000 SONAX Perfect Finish Award.

"It’s been a long time since I’ve had such a dominant day," said Dixon, who led 81 of the 85 laps.

It was the third consecutive victory for two-time series champion Dixon, who will celebrate his 33rd birthday July 22. His last three-in-a-row stretch was in 2007 (Watkins Glen, Nashville, Mid-Ohio), and the last in the series was accomplished by Ryan Hunter-Reay (Milwaukee, Iowa, Toronto) en route to his 2012 series championship.

Dixon also earned his 32nd Indy car victory to overtake Dario Franchitti, Bourdais and Paul Tracy for seventh on the all-time list.

Al Unser Jr. is next up with 34 victories (nine on ovals, 25 of road/street courses). Dixon has won 17 races on ovals and 15 on road/street courses. He has earned 31 of his 32 victories with Target Chip Ganassi Racing, which he joined in 2003.

"If we can get more victories, we’re obviously doing something right," Dixon said. "I credit a lot of that to the team."

Helio Castroneves, who entered the race with a 39-point lead over Hunter-Reay in the championship standings, finished second and is 29 points clear of Dixon. Bourdais earned his second consecutive podium finish (his first since 2007), and Franchitti finished fourth. E.J. Viso, who started 10th, placed fifth.

Facebook Comments

About the Author

Ian Shalapata
Ian writes for and provides imagery to Square Media Group as well as accepting freelance photographic assignments. In addition, he has contributed to media organizations, sporting groups, and individuals across North America including the Fort Wayne News-Sentinel, Chatham-Kent Sports Network, the Golf Association of Michigan, League 1 Ontario, as well as numerous colleges and universities in Canada and the United States. Email Ian Shalapata
%d bloggers like this: