Local Golfers Named To Team Essex-Kent

gao logoBy Darren Matte

(UXBRIDGE, ON) – The Golf Association of Ontario (GAO) has announced the rosters of the five regional teams that will comprise Ontario’s under-17 high performance program in 2014-15.

After a very successful regional team pilot program in 2013-14, the GAO is expanding the number of regional teams as well as adding more content to the training programs. The team members were selected based on their 2014 tournament scores and testing results from Skills Combines held during the month of September.

Team Essex-Kent is made up of golfers from the Windsor and South Western Ontario area. Randy McQueen coaches the team and the strength and conditioning coach is Ryan Carlone. They will train out of Roseland Golf Club and On The Green Indoor Golf in Tecumseh.


  • Spencer Ferguson (Windsor)
  • Brett Harrison (Essex)
  • Curtis Hughes (Tecumseh)
  • Adam Nunes (Tecumseh)
  • David Nunes (Tecumseh)
  • Shawn Sehra (Windsor)
  • Marcus Slipchuk (Amherstburg)
  • Ethan Stewart (Windsor)
  • Shannon Coffey (Windsor)
  • Rachel Cote (Windsor)
  • Jasmine Ly (Windsor)
  • Brooke MacKinnon (Chatham)

“We were thrilled with the progress of the 36 athletes that were part of regional team pilot program last season,” said Mary Ann Hayward, GAO Manager of Sport Performance. “Six of those players have advanced to our Team Ontario program for the upcoming season. With the addition of Niagara and Windsor, we will have 60 promising young athletes in our under-17 training program for 2014-15.”


The Latest Sports News

About the Author

Ian Shalapata
Ian writes for and provides imagery to Square Media Group as well as accepting freelance photographic assignments. In addition, he has contributed to media organizations, sporting groups, and individuals across North America including the Fort Wayne News-Sentinel, Chatham-Kent Sports Network, the Golf Association of Michigan, League 1 Ontario, as well as numerous colleges and universities in Canada and the United States. Email Ian Shalapata