2015 WESPY Award Winners

WESPY- Skyler Patteson Mitch Kramer

Skyler Patteson received the softball award at the 10th annual WESPY Awards presented at the Caboto Club on 13 April 2015. Mitch Kramer took home the top honours for baseball.
Photo by Ian Shalapata.

Header-image-Shalapata-2By Ian Shalapata

(WINDSOR, ON) – A gala night was on tap for the 10th annual WESPY Awards held Monday evening at the Caboto Club. With the NHL’s Chris Pronger in town as the keynote speaker, and a room full of the best local athletes, both nominated and past winners, the Windsor Lancers dominated the hardware.

Women’s basketball phenom, Miah-Marie Langlois received the nod as both the overall female athlete and female basketball athlete of the year for 2014. In the former category, Langlois shared the honour with mixed martial arts competitor Randa Markos.

Langlois could not attend the ceremony Monday as she is currently playing for Northland in the top Swedish professional league, Basketligan dam.

The women’s b-ball squad won the team of the year award for the fourth straight time.

On the men’s side, CIS all star Lien Phillip took the male basketball athlete of the year for his work with the Lancers, beating out pro nominees from the Windsor Express.


Jenny McKnight and Parker Van Buskirk were two of seven winners representing the Windsor Lancers. The pair swept the awards in the hockey category.
Photo by Ian Shalapata.

Lancers Jenny McKnight and Parker Van Buskirk took the Ed Jovanowski award for female and male hockey players of the year. Additionally, men’s team coach Kevin Hamlin took top honours in the coaching category.

The Mickey Renaud Captain’s trophy was captured by women’s volleyball standout Hannah Robson who is a four-time academic All-Canadian at the University. And Windsor track and field graduate Noelle Montcalm received the tap in the female section of that category.

Other winners on the night included boxer Samir (Sweet Sammy) El-Mais, as male athlete of the year, who made a remarkable comeback in the sport in 2014, as well as out-going St Clair College president Dr John Strasser, Kim Bryan, Mitch Kramer, Hasan Hawilo, Steve Horne, Mike Soulliere, Alicia Amante, Dean Nixon, Skyler Patteson, Madeline Potts, Vancho Cirovski, Ashley Goure, Jade Dufour, Alyssa Getty, Layne Van Buskirk, Miles Matthews, Brad Gyemi, Andrew Binder, Kylie Masse, Jake Nicoletti, Corbin Watson, Bryce Evon, and Stefan Milidrag.

WESPY-Alyssa Getty Bryce Evon

Alyssa Getty and Bryce Evon won the female and male, respectively, awards for golf at the 10th Annual WESPYs.
Photo by Ian Shalapata.

Long-time WESPY supporter and local sports enthusiast, John DeNapoli was named as the first ever winner a newly minted award named for him. DeNapoli’s untimely passing in 2014 continues to leave a large hole in the Windsor and Essex sporting community.

Mugsy Rondot and John Vacratsis were named the legacy award winners.


Mugsy Rondot was truly enthused to receive the female Legacy Award.
Photo by Ian Shalapata.

John Vacratsis

The male Legacy Award winner was John Vacratsis.
Photo by Ian Shalapata.


Facebook Comments

About the Author

Ian Shalapata

Ian writes for and provides imagery to Square Media Group as well as accepting freelance photographic assignments. In addition, he has contributed to media organizations, sporting groups, and individuals across North America including the Fort Wayne News-Sentinel, Chatham-Kent Sports Network, the Golf Association of Michigan, League 1 Ontario, as well as numerous colleges and universities in Canada and the United States.
Email Ian Shalapata

%d bloggers like this: