Jam-Packed Milwaukee Mile

Driver Takuma Sato and team owner AJ Foyt discuss performance metrics during a practice session.Photo by Ian Shalapata.

Driver Takuma Sato and team owner AJ Foyt discuss performance metrics during a practice session.
Photo by Ian Shalapata.

(MILWAUKEE, WI) – Verizon IndyCar Series drivers will practice, qualify, and race on the same day in the ABC Supply 250 at Milwaukee IndyFest. The Milwaukee Mile, a 1.015-mile oval in West Allis, WI, will feature 250 laps of IndyCar racing this weekend.

Starting at 9:00 am Sunday, teams will commence practice followed by qualifying laps at 12:30. Finally, the green flag will fly as the starting grid get under way at 4:35 pm, local time.

“It means you have to get it right quickly,” said defending race winner and reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Will Power, of the non-stop action. “We need a race to really jumpstart the rest of our season and Milwaukee did that for us last year. The win there kind of cemented our spot as the championship frontrunner, even though we still had to take care of business the rest of the year. When you have a race like we did last year at Milwaukee, it can’t help but give you supreme confidence heading into this year’s event.”

Team owner AJ Foyt, who made 45 starts at The Milwaukee Mile, prefers the compact schedule. The ABC Supply Wisconsin 250 will mark the 113th Indy car race at The Milwaukee Mile.

“I’m glad to see it that way because it’s cheaper on the car owners and makes things easier in some ways,” said Foyt, whose accomplishments at Milwaukee include a pole while driving an upright dirt Indy car against a field of low-slung rear-engine Indy cars in 1965.

“I’d like to see them get back to that way. It separates the men from the boys,” Foyt continued. “That’s the way it was in the old days and I’d like to see it go back to that.”

Ryan Hunter-Reay and Tony Kanaan are the only active drivers to win at The Milwaukee Mile more than once. Hunter-Reay has three wins while Kanaan won back-to-back races in 2006 and ‘07. Rodger Ward won at Milwaukee a record seven times from 1957-1963.

“We were just one lap away from a breakthrough result in Fontana, so hopefully we can put it all together this weekend at one of my favourite tracks,” said Hunter-Reay. “We’ve had success at this track in the past and it would be a huge achievement to join the short list of four-time winners at the famed 1-mile oval.”

IndyCar Kanaan Detroit 2015

Tony Kanaan in the No. 10 NTT Data car at the 2015 Chevrolet Belle Isle Detroit Grand Prix.
Photo by Ian Shalapata.

Twenty drivers entered in this year’s event have competed in past Indy car races at The Milwaukee Mile including Kanaan who has the most starts, 15, among the entered drivers.

“Over the years, I’ve had some strong finishes in Milwaukee,” Kanaan said. “This year’s race weekend schedule will be challenging with us practicing, qualifying, and racing all in the same day. We’ll need to be on top of our game to make sure we have a good finish, hopefully another win, on the historic short track.”

Leigh Diffey is the lead announcer for NBCSN, alongside analysts Townsend Bell, David Hobbs, and Canadian Paul Tracy. The live broadcast begins at 5:00 pm ET.


The Latest Sports News

About the Author

Ian Shalapata
Ian writes for and provides imagery to Square Media Group as well as accepting freelance photographic assignments. In addition, he has contributed to media organizations, sporting groups, and individuals across North America including the Fort Wayne News-Sentinel, Chatham-Kent Sports Network, the Golf Association of Michigan, League 1 Ontario, as well as numerous colleges and universities in Canada and the United States. Email Ian Shalapata