WESPY Award Nominees Announced

(WINDSOR, ON) – The nominees for the 12th annual WESPY Awards were leased this morning by the awards selection committee.

The list includes the three-time nomination of multi-sport student athlete Krystin Lawrence of the Windsor Lancers. The hockey and soccer star had 20 goals and 8 assists in 22 games on the ice for the Lancers this year and posted a 0.73 goals against average in 15 games on the pitch for the Blue and Gold.

Also with multiple nominations is St Clair Saints’ Shannon Kennedy, who is up for the female basketball player of the year as well as a hopeful for the Mickey Renaud Captain’s Award.

For the men, Logan Holmes of the Windsor Clippers has been nominated for both the male athlete of the year as well as the Renaud Award.

Two Windsor Spitfires are going head-to-head for the Ed Jovanovski Award. The club’s shutout record holder, Mike DiPietro, will vie against Montreal Canadiens draft pick Mikhail Sergachev.

One of the more interesting categories this year will be the fight for team of the year. The level of accomplishments by the nominated teams is a subtle view to the calibre of sport in this area.

The stellar OFSAA football champion Herman Green Griffins are pitted against the current national champion Windsor Lancers men’s track and field team and the back-to-back AAA gold medalist Tecumseh Thunder Seniors baseball team.

The Knobby Knudsen Female and Male Volunteers of the Year as well as the McTague Law Firm Award for Courage and Determination will be announced at the WESPY ceremony on March 7 at the Caboto Club. Chicago Black Hawks head coach Joel Quenneville was announced as this year’s keynote speaker on February 1.

Major Award Nominees for the 12th Annual WESPY Awards

Coach of the Year

  • Steve Vagnini – St. Clair College Women’s Soccer
  • Brett Lumley – Windsor Lancers Track & Field
  • Harry Lumley – Herman S.S. Football

Female Athlete of the Year

  • Hannah Drkulec – St. Anne Catholic H.S.
  • Layne Van Buskirk – Holy Names Catholic H.S.
  • Krystin Lawrence – Windsor Lancers

Male Athlete of the Year

  • Kelly Branton – Weightlifting
  • Logan Holmes – Windsor Clippers Lacrosse
  • Lionel Sanders – Tri – athlete / Ironman Competitor

Ken Dryden Executive of the YearAward

  • Dan DeMarco – Jamieson Golf Tour
  • Carole Kuli – South Windsor Warriors Basketball Club
  • Bernie Diesbourg – South County Bandits Volleyball Club

Mickey Renaud Captain’s Award

  • Logan Holmes – Windsor Clippers Lacrosse
  • Andrew Papadopoulos – Kennedy Collegiate / Riverside Rage
  • Shannon Kennedy – St. Clair College

Team of the Year

  • Herman Green Griffins Football
  • Windsor Lancers Track & Field Men
  • Tecumseh Thunder Srs. Baseball Team

John DeNapoli Sports Community Service Award

  • Paul Carter

Liuna 625 Female Legacy Award

  • Joan Jakubo

Unifor Local 444 & 2458 Male Legacy Award

  • Leo Paul Bracken

Female Nominees for the 12th Annual WESPY Awards

Dennis Fairall Track & Field Award

  • Stefanie Smith – Windsor Lancers
  • Taneidra Cain – W.F. Herman S.S. / Windsor Legion
  • Kelsey Balkwill – Border City Athletics

Ed Jovanovski Hockey Award

  • Krystin Lawrence – Windsor Lancers
  • Erin Noseworthy – Windsor Lancers
  • Savannah Bouzide – Southwest Wildcats/ General Amherst S.S.

Softball Award

  • Skyler Patteson – St. Clair College
  • Megan Lumley – St. Clair College
  • Alexa Georgiou – St. Clair College

Soccer Award

  • Abby Hunt – Windsor Lancers
  • Krystin Lawrence – Windsor Lancers
  • Hannah Drkulec – St. Anne Catholic High School

Tim Hommel Volleyball Award

  • Layne Van Buskirk – Holy Names Catholic H.S. / South County Bandits
  • Caylee Parker – Riverside S.S. / Genesis Volleyball Club
  • Shannon Dean – Windsor Lancers

Swimming Award

  • Madeleine McDonald – Windsor Aquatic Club
  • Kendra Polewski – Windsor Aquatic Club
  • Rachel Rode – Windsor Essex Swim Team

Figure Skating Award

  • Arista Lee – Skate LaSalle
  • Kristen Moerchen – South Windsor Skating Club
  • Adelina Bailey – Lopes – Essex / Leamington Skating Club

Parasport Athletes Award

  • Virginia McLachlan – Windsor Lancers
  • Jessica Matassa – Essex – Kent Ice Bullets
  • Ashley Goure – Essex – Kent Ice Bullets

Wrestling Award

  • Virginie Gascon – L’Essor Wrestling Club
  • Olivia Menard – L’Essor Wrestling Club
  • Sara Long – Windsor Wrestling Club

Golf Award

  • Hannah Meloche – Sutton Creek Golf & C.C.
  • Jasmine Ly – Kingsville Golf C.C.
  • Audrey Akins – GAO Public Player

Basketball Award

  • Mildred Okoko – Holy Names Catholic H.S.
  • Cheyanne Roger – Windsor Lancers
  • Shannon Kennedy – St. Clair College

Male Nominees for the 12th Annual WESPY Awards

Dennis Fairall Track & Field Award

  • Khalil Parris – Border City Athletics Club
  • Corey Bellemore – Windsor Lancers
  • Nick Falk – University of Windsor Athletics Club

Ed Jovanovski Hockey Award

  • Michael DiPietro – Windsor Spitfires
  • Mikhail Sergachev – Windsor Spitfires
  • Tyler Wall – Leamington Flyers

Soccer Award

  • Celso Carapau – Windsor TFC
  • Stefan Milidrag – St. Clair College
  • Kyle Vizirakis – Windsor Lancers / Windsor TFC

Baseball Award

  • Gibson Krzeminski – U 18 -Windsor Selects
  • Joel Pierce – Tecumseh Thunder Srs.
  • Kyle Breitner – St. Clair College

Volleyball Award

  • Blase Wasser – Windsor Lancers
  • Brad Gyemi – Windsor Lancers
  • Michael Knight – St. Clair College

Swimming Award

  • Aaron Norg – Windsor Essex Swim Team
  • Leon Ouyang – Windsor Essex Swim Team
  • Ethan Fazekas – Windsor Aquatic Club

Gino Fracas Football Award

  • Adam Slikboer – Windsor Fratmen
  • Terrance Crawford – Windsor Lancers
  • Randy Beardy – Windsor Lancers

Parasport Athletes Award

  • Mike LaRochelle – Windsor Bulldogs
  • Tim Ekert – Windsor Bulldogs
  • Corbin Watson – Essex – Kent Ice Bullets

Wrestling Award

  • Hassan Al – Hayawi – Windsor Wrestling Club
  • Dylan McKenzie – Windsor Wrestling Club
  • Michael Sanchez – Essex County Wrestling Club

Golf Award

  • Luc Warnock – Pointe West Golf Club
  • James Hill – Beach Grove Golf & CC
  • Curtis Hughes – Beach Grove Golf & CC


  • Isiah Osborne – Windsor Lancers
  • Alex Campbell – Windsor Lancers
  • Isaiah Familia – Holy Names Catholic H.S.

Horseman Award

  • Ron Adams
  • Don Leschied
  • Bob McIntosh
Facebook Comments

About the Author

Ian Shalapata

Ian writes for and provides imagery to Square Media Group as well as accepting freelance photographic assignments. In addition, he has contributed to media organizations, sporting groups, and individuals across North America including the Fort Wayne News-Sentinel, Chatham-Kent Sports Network, the Golf Association of Michigan, League 1 Ontario, as well as numerous colleges and universities in Canada and the United States.
Email Ian Shalapata

%d bloggers like this: